Congratulations – Calypso’s Buffet receives Gilpin County ‘Leader In Food Safety’ award

Chef Manny Hernandez Jr., Chef James Gilmer IV, Executive Chef Klaus Krebs, Roger Baker, Food & Beverage Director Tom Anderson, Lead Cook Kris Pina, Lead Cook Jeremy Salazar and Lead Cook Rodney Baptiste. Photo courtesy Isle Casino Hotel

Submitted by Roger Baker

Gilpin County Public Health selected Calypso’s Buffet at Isle Casino Hotel as the 2012 Leader in Food Safety. Calypso’s Buffet was selected because employees routinely attend certified food safety training; no presumptive food borne illness during the past 12 months and no violations during the past 12 months involving food temperatures, cross contamination, and hand washing that haven’t been corrected as required.

Roger Baker, Gilpin County manager, recognized the Isle for the second year in a row on Sept. 21.

Preventing foodborne illness isn’t easy and takes commitment from everyone. With more than 85 licensed food service establishments in Gilpin County, the Environmental Health Specialists who spend their days inspecting facilities for adherence to food safety regulations have plenty of work to do.

Gilpin County announces its “leaders in food safety” during National Food Safety and Education Month each September and urges everyone to learn more about safe food handling and preparation techniques.  Preventing foodborne illness continues to be an important public health challenge. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimates that: one in six Americans (or 48 million people) gets sick from, and 3,000 die of foodborne diseases each year.

One Response to Congratulations – Calypso’s Buffet receives Gilpin County ‘Leader In Food Safety’ award

  1. Pat Feathers October 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Is Isle running any specials or discounts for its restaurants for October20 2012?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>